• Google Translate 1
  • Google Translate 2
  • Google Translate 3
  • Google Translate 4

Google Translate

• Translate between 103 languages by typing
• Tap to Translate: Copy text in any app and your translation pops up
• Offline: Translate 52 languages when you have no Internet
• Instant camera translation: Use your camera to translate text instantly in 29 languages
• Camera Mode: Take pictures of text for higher-quality translations in 37 languages
• Conversation Mode: Two-way instant speech translation in 32 languages
• Handwriting: Draw characters instead of using the keyboard in 93 languages
• Phrasebook: Star and save translations for future reference in any language
Translations between the following languages are supported:Afrikaans, Albanian, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Basque, Belarusian, Bengali, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Cebuano, Chichewa, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Corsican, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, Frisian, Galician, Georgian, German, Greek, Gujarati, Haitian Creole, Hausa, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Kannada, Kazakh, Khmer, Korean, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Kyrgyz, Lao, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Malagasy, Malay, Malayalam, Maltese, Maori, Marathi, Mongolian, Myanmar (Burmese), Nepali, Norwegian, Pashto, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Serbian, Sesotho, Shona, Sindhi, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Somali, Spanish, Sundanese, Swahili, Swedish, Tajik, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Welsh, Xhosa, Yiddish, Yoruba, Zulu

Category : Tools

Related searches

Reviews (30)

caz. m. Mar 11, 2022     

Since the last update it doesn't work anymore offline. We need to search 2 time to make it work (i guess it take time to launch one my cheap phone cpu, it doesn't work the first time. But only the second one). I and my friend who has the same problem, send several feedback since weeks, to signal the bug but nobody cares. Please let us come back to the previous update!

Dav. M. Mar 30, 2022     

The new interface is an ergonomic nightmare. You can't change languages if you're writing, the button for history only appears when you're writing, swiping too much in the history brings you back to the home screen, the mic button disappears if you've already written something... That looks very much like an iOS app gone wrong.

Dav. Mar 16, 2022     

The previous update was good. I often chat with people in WhatsApp who don't speak English or French and I used the copy text then tap on the notification Google Translate to translate directly from my clipboard. Now I have to tap 2 times to clear, paste and translate... Is it possible to rollback this feature? It's very annoying to translate and not easy... Even for the translate in app, this is not clear with the new design.

Son. B. Feb 25, 2022     

Worst update ever...! Floating bubble no longer works (it was excellent before the update),gets in the way as it stayed on screen alk the time (it didn't used to), so disabled it. Clunky to use, doesn't remember languages I use as a default, so you have to keep re-selecting (it didn't used to do this), text size is ridiculously large, doesn't remember previous translations. As I just said, worst update ever!! Unless you fix these rubbish "improvements", I'm going to install another app instead.

Col. R. Feb 1, 2022     

Very good with the new update, it listens longer so you can pause slightly before you say some more words. But can I have some colour on the screen please... just reading some reviews, the history wasn't easy to find but now I know how to do it. Swipe left for history, then swipe the translation left to delete...

E. C. May 26, 2022     

Infuriating that the tap to translate bubble no longer appears. What's going on?! Please bring it back, the app is broken without it! Edit in response to the developer reply: Aha, from the link you provided I gather it's an issue with Android's new clipboard monitoring settings. The auto pop-up bubble is no more. I wish you had just told me that rather than being obtrusive and making me dig through support forums. Very disappointing. The functionality of the app is drastically reduced now.

And. G. May 5, 2022     

It's OK...ish. works quite well translating English to Portuguese. However, sometimes it does get things wrong and my in-laws start laughing at me. Good job I'm improving my own speaking skills so won't have to use it much longer. The major fault is that, as soon as you pause to breathe, it stops. Has Google ever heard what a conversation sounds like? People pause all the time! Having to continually hit that microphone button is infuriating.

The. T. T. May 9, 2022     

I've chosen the English language region to be United states but the voice speaks British, I tried hard to fix it but couldn't. It's not about that, at first (after having just downloaded it) it speaks in American accent perfectly, but then out of the blue it changes to the British accent, I tried to figure it out but couldn't. Thank you for your fast reply

Alb. May 9, 2022     

There was.. nothing wrong with the previous UI. Why, why even change it so drastically? Yeah it may be "pleasing" to the eyes, I guess, but that's at the expense of user experience. There's no easy way of finding your history nor changing languages now, and it just shows everything was made with aesthetic in mind, instead of ease of use. Kind of like a model house made as eye candy and not for someone to live in.

Chr. D. May 23, 2022     

Great that Google provides this service for free. Unfortunately, they keep stuffing this app with anti features. The latest is an incorrigible nag screen that reminds me to upload my translation history. Google really really wants me to do this. Only way to get rid of it, temporarily, is click "Manage History" then press back button. Another 'feature' is a clever algorithm that tries to detect when you've finished speaking while using voice translate, and nearly always cuts me off mid sentence.

Don. B. May 24, 2022     

Would be great if it were possible to translate images from device gallery, but it seems as though it is only possible to translate photos taken from within the app, and with no storage history of previously translated images... Overall it is definitely an essential application though, and it came to my rescue countless times during a 2 year period while I was China... Next challenge: South Korea! 🇰🇷

jur. May 13, 2022     

It's a great app and i need it every day more than i need water. But it would be great if i could switch between more than five languages at the "recent languages" section. Plus the new interface is awful, not user-friendly at all. I can only switch languages before or while a translation is in process and not after. Also I can't see past translations anymore.

Bek. D. Apr 30, 2022     

i've been using this app for several years now. everything is just perfect. however i'm giving 4 stars 'cause after the last update there's been a problem with the floating. priorly, when floating enabled the floating icon wasn't shown on the screen as long as you copy something. now it's always on the screen. i'd give 5 stars after you fix this. thanks Google. edit: the design after the last update is amazing. it's become really helpful

ce. 5. m. e. :. May 7, 2022     

App is ruined with the "new" interface. Many features removed or worthless. The write in functionality is most notable, you cannot resize the window anymore for larger writing space. Using this app in split screen mode and trying to use the write in feature makes it only smaller and harder to use while multitasking. In landscape mode you cannot select write in mode because in order for the button to appear, you need to tap the text box; Which in landscape the keyboard covers it completely.

Bob. T. May 18, 2022     

Occasionally, it tells me it can't translate because it's offline, even when I'm connected to the internet. I verified I was connected by using the browser version. I tried uninstalling then reinstalling, but the issue still occurs periodically. It does work offline with downloaded languages, but only after turning on airplane mode.

Dev. C. May 23, 2022     

It's very clear that the new UI is inversally despised (fake ratings from your click-farms don't count), and since you vehemently insist you care about users having the best "experience," the only reasonable course of action would be to undo the recent changes and go back to the old layout. You can go back the old UI, or keep the new one admit you don't care about the users. So, when are you going to revert to the old interface? I'd like a real answer from a human, not a form reply from a bot.

Phu. T. May 11, 2022     

The new interface took some time to get used to but I'm quite satisfied with the new look. What bugs me is that many languages have this abrupt stop at the end of record, sometimes it ends even before the ending of the word. For example, when I was trying to hear the proper spelling of a Norwegian word but couldn't make out the last part due to the abrupt stop. For now the only way to here the entire sentence is to add another word at the end of it so the recording won't stop so abruptly.

Ton. H. May 23, 2022     

The floating icon used to appear only after a copy action. Now it stays on the screen all the time, becomes a nuisance and a squatter of valuable screen space, forcing me to disable it altogether. Why the stupid, inconsiderate change? AND I knew how to disable the feature. But why the change in the first place? If the intention was to take away the convenience (other than for other Google apps, which make up by the addition of the Translate option in the context menu), then you have succeeded.

Elt. W. May 1, 2022     

Despise the new UI. The history is much harder to look through. Great "improvement" (sarcasm expressed) Edit/reply: i did not have to use that step to get to the history, it was perfectly obvious to see and understand in a list for before without having to open a sub-menu. And the previous method to look through translation history was in a newest to oldest order, but now it's in some new kind of order that makes it difficult to look through. Completely unnecessary update.

Bar. M. May 11, 2022     

The older version was great. Just about everything that was changed made the app more difficult and/or irritating to use. Floating button-who wants to be constantly moving a button so they can access their material. Button only needs to be there when sections are highlighted and invisible when they're not. Easy flip between languages in t-to-t by means of reversing arrows, gone. Now you have to select languages from 2 pop-up's to reverse languages. Irritating and time consuming.

Rac. P. May 3, 2022     

Since the last update, I have been unable to use the app "offline". In fact, the language that I had downloaded for offline use disappeared and I am no longer able to download it. When I hit the download arrow next to the language in the app, it doesn't do anything. The interface is not great anymore either, you could easily see your previous translations before the update and now you have to pull up or down and leave your screen to scroll to see previous translations. 👎

SUF. May 26, 2022     

Very useful app for everyone weather student or travel. I was a little disappointed from the last version that the old history used to come first, then the new one came later after through the long scrolling. Then I send the feedback related to this problem and Google Translate response it very soon and launch this new version. I'm very glad that they really took this very seriously. Hats off to Google.

Ala. Apr 30, 2022     

EDIT: ALL'S FIXED NOW, I'M SATISFIED WITH THIS VERSION. They fixed most of the issues that I had reported so I'm upping my rating. 2 issues remain: I think the "Delete all history button" should be moved from Settings to the History page, but that's just me, and there's still an issue (although partially fixed), that if you translate Spanish to English, the app automatically adds a Spanish keyboard layout for you, and it STICKS even after you exit the app.

Gol. S. May 25, 2022     

Before update, it was very user friendly easy to navigate design. With new design update it became very clunky to use. Text and button sizes are too big and take 1/3rd of 6.8 inch phone screen. Why text and buttom sizes are fixed and cant be adjustable? Why translation opens new window and I have to scroll down to see translated text every time and cannot change language within same window? And more. Previously design was perfectly good. Now its nightmare to use. I can no longer recommend it

Ezh. H. Apr 29, 2022     

Off-line translation does not work anymore. Yesterday all translation files I downloaded before suddenly disappeared. Now when I try to download an Off-line language nothing happens. The latest update I installed today didn't help. Also since February the interface became horrible. The fonts are too large. So, a lot of screen space is wasted. When I type with screen keyboard the immediate translation is hidden and it is very inconvenient. I wrote in the in-app help system but got no response.

Sor. M. May 11, 2022     

Seriously, this history thing is really pissing me off. At least give me a button on the main screen to quickly access history. Don't make me go up into a layered hidden option. Not even all of my history is saving. It's more sporadic, if it's in the mood to save. It was better before the update. Thanks for screwing up a perfectly good app, Google. Good job.

rya. s. May 24, 2022     

Shouldn't have updated. Now it keeps on saying "Can't translate. Check connection and try again" even though my Internet is working perfectly fine. And even if it's offline, it should still be able to translate the downloaded languages but it can't. The downloaded language only works if you put the phone to airplane mode which is silly if I still have to use the phone whilst translating.

Kat. R. May 21, 2022     

I've been using this app for a short time and its already getting on my nerves. Everytime I click into the app and type in something to be translated it just does nothing. I’ve checked my internet and server and they say my internet is working fine. I've had to force stop, restart and reinstall the app and no change. It would then start working okay, only for the same thing to happen later in the day multiple times a day. What's the point of a translating app that won't translate.

Bra. H. Apr 29, 2022     

CAN NO LONGER DOWNLOAD LANGUAGES! Yes, I used to be able to do this just days ago. Yes, my settings allow for both wifi and data. Yes, I've tried both. Yes, I've updated everything. Yes, I've restarted. Yes, I've emailed Support days ago. EDIT: Google's garbage reply below suggests that I'm unaware of how the process *should* work rather than addressing the app's inability to perform as intended.

Kam. H. May 9, 2022     

Horrible user interface ! Who designs and approves it ? After the new update , everything is just hard to maneuver . The floating window function isn't properly working and it's hard to access history . You just introduce more unnecessary button presses just for some new ecstatic designs . Used to be one of the best applications . Waiting for a while now hoping that you would change or something , but there aren't any changes . Give me back the old design !!!